New Member looking at 2009 Versys - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-19-2015, 12:55 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
New Member looking at 2009 Versys

Hi all,

I'm a new member of forum and while not an actual owner, I am going to look at a 2009 used Versys w/ 5.6K miles on it.

I've been riding for 30+ yrs (mostly BMW's) and currently have a '78 R100S. I'm looking for something lightweight to commute/play on and was originally looking for a SV 650, but keep coming back to the V as more practical.

The 2009 is available local and priced very nice w/ gel seat, v-stream windscreen + new tires (un-installed). The currant owner stated that original tires are "pretty much beat". My only concern is - how does one go through the original tires in 5600 miles?

I'm guessing the guy was "big" or he rode the bike hard (or both?)

While the bike seems to be priced very good, a *new* 2014 (w/o ABS) is also available locally for about $1500 more. Then of course a new LT would be nice, but don't really want to make payments.

I'm scheduled to look at the 2009 in a few days...Is there anything to look out for as far as the bike being abused?

Reading this forum, it sounds like the Versys is pretty much bullet proof if used for the street - but if anyone has any advice, it would be much appreciated!

In my area, it is a very good time to be buying a bike - lots a variety and prices are low, so I'm not even taking cash to look at this bike (it's been listed for nearly 2 months and seller is firm with price 3650 no bags / 4150 w/ color matched givi's + racks).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-19-2015, 01:04 PM