A little help? - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-16-2010, 11:35 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
A little help?

Hey everybody. My name's Chris and I'm new to this whole motorcycle thing. I've had the bug for about 5 years now and am about to take the MSF in a few weeks.

I've done a lot of research on bikes over the years and I've got it narrowed down to a BMW GS and a Versys. Don't want my first bike to eat my lunch and be more than I can handle so thinking of starting with a 650 GS or a Versys. I'm 6'1" and have sat on the Versys and was able to get my feet on the ground. The bike's weight felt comfortable and I think it would be a good beginner's bike. Not planning on off-road for a while. I know the Beemer's more expensive and the closest dealership is in Orlando. Any thoughts/advice?

Also, the local Kawa dealer is asking $7500 for an '09 (they have 4 left - 2 green and 2 blue). Told him I was paying cash and talked him down to $6800 out the door. Fair price for an '09 or should I shop another dealer? He told me he wouldn't order his '10's for another month and that they would be $600 more than the '09's.

Sorry for the long intro post, but really need some input. Thanks in advance and good to be on board.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-16-2010, 11:51 AM

Two good choices and a great idea to take the MSF course.

If it were me starting out with little to no experience, I'd go on Craigs list and find myself a cheap used bike and ride that around for a few months.Not to put you off in anyway, we've all been there, but there's a chance you could drop your shiny new GS or Versys and even stationary, you'll do a lot of cosmetic damage. On a cheap used bike you won't care on your beautiful expensive new one, you'll be heart broken!