What if it pulls my arms right the hell OFF?! :) - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-24-2010, 12:21 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
What if it pulls my arms right the hell OFF?! :)

I somehow arrived at a place where I took up street riding later in life, but rode trail bikes as a kid. Let's not say I had a "mid-life-crisis"; there really was and is no crisis. Let's say I became "mature enough to appreciate the joy of riding" a bit later (maybe wiser?) in life than most. I got my moto licence, and I have been riding a ZZR 250 for 3 years (it's like a Ninja 250 with better fairings/brakes/tires -- not sold in the US). I had ridden the 650r during Kawasaki "demo days" a couple of years back, and having sold the 250 last summer, recently bought a used 2008 Versys after much shopping around (mostly for the 650r -- used Versyses (sp?) just don't seem to exist around here).

I have only ridden the thing for a couple of hours (on a day permit -- too cold/rainy to justify insuring and riding for a few more weeks around here), but I fear for my arms -- they are gonna to be pulled from their sockets by this thing.

How the hell does anyone actually ride a 160hp literbike? Like, how do you physically hang on to the thing? I read a bunch of stuff on the Versys (and the 650r) when I was thinking about new bikes, and they were both described as "peppy", and "snappy" and the like. Mother of God, who can ride anything much bloody "peppier" without having their limbs torn asunder, or being dumped unceremoniously off the back of the thing?