Newbie - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-14-2014, 10:58 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)

Brought home my just bought '09 on Friday last. Two hours later I sold My '06 KLR that I owned for 3 weeks. I had taken it in trade for my modded out restored '83 CB 1100F. Not much activity trying to sell it so I took the trade that I knew would be more sellable. KLR just was not my style. I've been wanting to downsize from the big boys I have been riding for 45 years. (CB900, CB1000, KZ1000, GSXR, VFR800, VMAX, Concours ZG14, CB1100F, numerous modded CB 750's) I turned the big 60 and decided I should slow down a bit. Have heard great things about the "V". I will try to get used to the sound and feel of only two cyclinders!
Bought this one from the daughter of original owner. He had died. 10k on it and in excellent condition with touring accessories. No service records available. How important are valve adjustment checks on these models? Should I just have it done not knowing if it has been?
Any thing else I should check? Has been running AmsOil 10-40. Is this stuff any good?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-15-2014, 12:37 AM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Garage
You can download the service manual from the tech section of this site. I would do a throttle body sync, change the plugs, and clean the air filter. Also adjust suspension for your liking and adjust headlight aim (after suspension adjustment). Not sure what the mileage for the valve adjust is but I believe it is well above 10K. Also chain slack may be out. Suspension adjustment is a long trial and error process, start with the stock settings.