Yet Another Buckeye - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-14-2009, 07:13 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Yet Another Buckeye

Yes, someone else from Ohio, Tipp City to be exact.

I bought my '08 Versys last fall after much consideration.

I am a long time BMW rider, I own two R1100's, an RS and an RTP (retired police bike). I've been riding litre+ bikes for over ten years and decided I wanted a small 'fun' bike. I looked at the BMW offerings in the 650cc range but just couldn't come off of $9,000+/- for big blue. I really did like the 650 X-Counrty though. I came across the Versys in '07 when researching 650cc starter bikes for my husband who took up motorcycling after he sold his sail plane (long story). The Versys was not available in '07 so he went with a 650 V-Strom. The 'Strom is a fine bike, but not what I considered to be a "small fun bike."

I continued to follow and read about the Versys and was impressed all the way. When I finally decided to actually buy one late summer '08, the fun really began. There are two Kawi dealers in my area. I have experience with both as I had a KLR650 at one time and I like neither of them. At about this time the Versys was named MOTY. The two local dealers were not coming off of MSRP one little bit. In fact one of them said there would be a premium charge because they would have to bring one in from another dealer. I cast my search wider than the local area.