First timer, finally decided on my bike - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-11-2014, 10:17 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
First timer, finally decided on my bike

Greetings!

Not too much for background when it comes to motorcycles. I've never been on a motorized cycle, just the standard pedal kind. I've been commuting to work for the last 7-8 years and just trying to get from to work and back without death in various cars with solid success. Last year, though, I changed jobs to one within a mile of my house and the idea of getting something a little less expensive, more fun, and completely different came to mind.

I considered a scooter...but realized that I might as well just ride my bicycle for the price vs luxury quotient. Then I found out that some bikes were getting 50-60mph in town! The last few months have been a blur or internet searches, books read, videos watched and countless discussions with riders about their experiences and recommendations. Its been fun and its gotten me very excited.

I'm probably jumping the gun, but I believe I've settled on the bike I want to start off with. I wanted something good for the street but capable of the very occaisonal off-road. I wanted it comfortable to ride but slightly aggressive. It also had to fit me...I'm 6'4" and sit pretty comfortably around 225. I was told dual sports were the bracket for me (as much as I wanted a sport or sport touring). I was almost resigned to a KLR-650...with a secret wish to convert it to a less dirt bike look until someone pointed out the versys. Perfection!

So here I am, stealing all your knowledge and life experiences...waiting until I can save up enough money for the MSF course (and stealing parking lot instructionals from my brother) while I hunt for a suitably used Versys.