New Guy - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-01-2014, 05:35 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
New Guy

Hi,
I'm new here and all of this is happening really fast. I have been riding off and on for 50 years and have traded bikes a few times in the last 6 or 8 years. I am happy with my present ride, but looking for something to "tour" with. I travel light and like light bikes.

A fellow came by last week to pick up a part I was selling, and he was riding a Versys. It was pretty decked out and I couldn't help being attracted to it. I have shopped local adverts and hope to look at a couple and ride one tomorrow.

I usually buy used bikes that are cheap enough to buy with cash, but may be open to new. I would like to know the differences between 08's and the later models.

I'll let you know how this shakes out.

Richard
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-01-2014, 05:50 PM
MTS

One of the funnest bikes I've owned!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
( RIDE FREE BE SAFE )
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by MTS; 01-01-2014 at 05:52 PM.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2014, 09:32 AM

Mostly cosmetic changes and the second generation bikes have rubber mounted engine although many with first generation aren't bothered.

I think someone said the front brakes may be better on newer models due to a different master cylinder?

Any model is good though!

Ride To Live, Live To Ride....no, really!

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2014, 09:34 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Any year is good ( The newer models are just uglier )

2009 Blue Versys.
Sold

My Farkles...

My Video Channel

My Photos...

I'm not a Gynecologist. "But I'll Take A Look"