Greetings from Kansas - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-18-2008, 11:02 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Greetings from Kansas

Greetings gents – and ladies (?)

Well, I guess I am the newest member of the Versys crew. Picked one up yesterday afternoon. So as is customary with most of my vehicles – I have to go out and find the forum where everyone is hanging out. So, here I am!

I won’t bore you with all the gritty details here, but I will fill out some things in my profile so anyone interested can take a look.

Briefly - I’m not new to motorcycles, but let’s just say I haven’t ridden in this century. I bought an ‘81 KZ 550 soon after I graduated college and rode that for 2-3 years until I had to move to follow my job in ‘98. I always thought about getting another bike, but always seemed like one thing after another popped up to spend money on before that.

So a couple of weeks ago, the wife and I are talking about riding bicycles (which we both do and love) and the topic of distance came up. I made a comment about, “You’d have to ride a motorcycle if you were going that far” She said something like, “that would be fun - I’d ride a motorcycle if I had one”

So that basically put the wheels in motion. Initially, visions of a hot chick slung over a street bike filled my head. But then I thought about how we both like mountain biking, camping, hiking, etc. So I discussed the dual purpose bikes with her. We both agreed that those might be a better fit and decided to find something that could at least handle gravel roads and very light off road use. I remembered the seeing the KLR and research on that led me here and eventually to the KLE Versys. I really liked the look of the Versys and the reviews seemed to be pretty positive. So I started searching for a dealer.