Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

Kawasaki Versys 650. Good Starter Bike?

2K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  twowheeladdict 
#1 ·
Hello,

I am new to riding and want a bike that will last me. I don't want to have to keep upgrading due to outgrowing the bike. Is the 650 tame enough to start riding on but powerful enough to keep me interested?

Thanks for your input!

#2 ·
Some folks would probably say yes, I would tend to say no.

IMO (and everything is just opinion) most folks would be better off buying a cheaper, lighter, less powerful (and used) bike first. Most folks I've ever talked to, including MSF instructors advise assuming that you will keep your first bike 1-2 years. After that, not only will you be able to handle a bigger, heavier, more powerful bike, but you will have a much better idea of what type of bike you like.

The Versys 650 is relatively tall and heavy compared to what you will learn on at a MSF class (most likely a 250cc of some sort). If you are 6 foot 6 and 275 pounds, that's a different story. You might need 650cc just to move you, and a 33 inch seat height just to not feel like I feel on a Grom.

But in general, you will find a lighter ADV or DS bike much easier to learn "ADV riding" on - stuff like power slides, spin turns, riding on sand, etc.

That said, I don't think a noob on a Versys 650 is likely to kill themselves in the first week like they would on a Ninja H2, but you might find it a less than optimal learning experience. 1 to 2 year old Versys 300s are plentiful and relatively cheap, and IMO make an excellent first bike, and finding a buyer if you outgrow it should be easy.

My .02

dm

#3 ·