Bike for newbie - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-01-2013, 10:02 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Bike for newbie

Hi Everyone
I am getting my licence this spring so I will be a new rider. No previous riding experience on bikes.I look forward to meeting as many members as possible. being a newbie I have a question I hope the senior riders can help me with. I very much want to get a Kawasaki bike and am looking at a couple different options for myself. In the cruiser department I was looking at a Vulcan 900 LT. Then I came across the Versys and liked the sports tourer. I was wondering if the Versys 650 would be a good starter bike to learn to ride and get comfortable? or is there another model you would recommend? I am 5t 10" and weigh 225lbs, so I want to make sure the Versys 650 would be big enough for me as well. Also on the highway does the Versys wind shield provide good wind protection as I will be doing a combo of city and highway cycling. I welcome any advice you may have. Thanks in advance.

Darren
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-01-2013, 10:31 AM

If you take the Motorcycle Safety Foundation class you'll get great training on a smaller bike (250) that you can apply to the Versys. Take it easy and you should have no problem with it as a starter bike. Easy on the throttle and easy on the brakes and you should be fine. It will definitely be big enough for you. The stock windshield does not block a lot of wind but there are numerous aftermarket choices out there for you.

Ride To Live, Live To Ride....no, really!
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-01-2013, 10:49 AM

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Garage
i'm 6'2" 300 lbs and it easily hauls my big butt around

2009 Blue Versys.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sold