Poor start with versys 650 - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-17-2019, 02:27 PM Thread Starter

Poor start with versys 650

Hi all,
I'm new to 2 wheels and recently after much thought decided to purchase a versys 650. It a 2016 abs version. First 3 to 4 rides out were fine,then it developed an intermittent starting issue.
There are times when the fuel pump does not appear to operate and the various electrical noise the bike goes through on turning the key is different.
When this occurs the bike will turn over but not start.
As the bike is turning over the yellow engine symbol light is flashing.
Turning back off then on will more than likely return all the various electrical noises to normal.
The bike will start and run fine.

Out of say ten ignition on off operations about 9 are correct and the bike will start,the tenth the noises are different and the bike will not start.
A local main dealer had the bike recently and could find no faults logged.He suggested a new fuel pump relay unit. This was purchased and fitted but has not cleared the intermittent non staring fault, yellow engine symbol light flashing and non starting.
The hand book states when this light flashes whilst trying to start the engine it is relayed to the bike fall over sensor.

Does anyone have any experience of the same issue ?

I did drop the bike slowly over the other day whilst it was running. The engine stopped as it should. Keyed the ignition off then back on with no starting issues.

Best bank holiday in months for the weather and I'm stuck with a dodgy bike !!!!

Thanks to all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-17-2019, 03:17 PM

I would investigate that tip over sensor. There are other folks here with the expertise to guide you in checking it out.

I've heard of some issues with the T/O switch after a tip over.