New Member / 650 Versys 2011 /Came home to bike laying in puddle - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

2Likes
  • 1 Post By Skypilot 69
  • 1 Post By frf

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 08:19 PM Thread Starter
frf

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
New Member / 650 Versys 2011 /Came home to bike laying in puddle

Hey guys, I'm new here. I've been riding a 2011 versys 650 for about two years now. I haven't had any real problems and thus haven't done much wrenching.

I just came home from a weekend out of town to find my bike laying on it's side (exhaust up) after apparently a weekend of crazy wind and rain. No way to know how long it had been down. It was covered, but the cover was holding some water by the time i found it. It definitely leaked gas. It was laying in mud and maybe 1-2" of water in a puddle. It has crash bars and pannier racks, but not sure how much those kept it elevated.

So, do i need to treat it like a full submersion and strip/drain exhaust and airbox and dry start with spark plugs out? Or am i just freaking out because i love my baby and she's probably ok to crank after sitting for a day or so?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 08:36 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
You may need to open the Air cleaner to be certain that no water entered the system. If your air cleaner is dry than you are save..From your write up i am not sure how deep your bike was submersed in water. Any pictures?
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 09:49 PM Thread Starter
frf

Didn't take any pics.

The water was only a few inches deep. If i had seen it fall and righted it immediately i probably wouldn't have been concerned. Just didnt know if the fact that it may have been on it's side in that spot for a couple of days could have made the situation worse.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-08-2019, 09:55 PM
Super Moderator