Greetings from Sacramento - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Heywood
  • 1 Post By onewizard
  • 1 Post By Heywood

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-01-2018, 12:12 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Greetings from Sacramento

Hi, I've recently started riding again after a 30 year hiatus. 1st bike was a mid to late 70's Yamaha 650 special and now I have a 2015 Versys LT with all the farkles. I found it on Craigslist and finally had my appt at the DMV yesterday (if your from CA you'll understand finally), paid the sunshine tax and was on my way. I'm still learning quite a bit but it's coming back. I've already signed up for the ACSO course in the spring so I'm looking forward to that and I'll try and sneak in a IRC locally but it seems it's not offered frequently or I'm just not looking in the right place.

In July my 18yo got his first bike, I found an '86 250 Ninja for cheap that was in excellent cosmetic shape but needed a carb rebuild and complete maintenance and all fluids flushed, rear brake fluid was milky. That got me jonesin' again for a bike of my own and he's looking to step up to an ER-6n, FZ6 or maybe a SFV650 at some point although he does need a car as well it's hard not to get another bike with the price of cars.

So here's my 1st question, the tires are Dunlop Roadsmart II's, are these the factory tires? The previous owner used it mainly for touring and the center of the rear tire is worn flat, you can even feel the edge on the tire. The miles I'll put on it will be mostly 65 mi/rt commute.
When is it time to replace?