Considering a Versys - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-21-2012, 01:01 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Considering a Versys

Hi! I have been riding a 1996 Honda XR650L for about 14 years. I would really like a Transalp, but Honda will not import them to the U.S. The Super Tenere seems like a great bike but I do not think I will ever need anything that big. The V looks like a good choice. There is a 100% chance that I will take my V off road. I am really looking for a bike that is more comfortable for long highway travel, but when I come accross a dirt road, I don't want to be afraid of it. I am not thinking of the V as a dual-sport, but more of a scambler (if that makes scense.)

What do Versys off/road riders think of its performance?

I am concerned about the lack of tire choices and the low exhaust.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Alien XR.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	62.5 KB
ID:	15796  

Last edited by Cucamongus; 09-23-2012 at 12:18 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-21-2012, 01:05 PM

For tires, definitely limited by the front wheel size. For the exhaust, if your going extreme off-roading maybe it could be a problem. You might want to consider something like a Tiger 800XC instead if off-roading is your main goal. There's no bad bikes, only bad ways to use them
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-22-2012, 07:58 PM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cucamongus View Post
Hi! I have been riding a 1996 Honda XR650L for about 14 years. I would really like a Transalp, but Honda will not import them to the U.S. The Super Tenere seems like a great bike but I do not think I will ever need anything that big. The V looks like a good choice. There is a 100% chance that I will take my V off road.