Clutch shifter issues - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 10:53 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Clutch shifter issues

Hi all, I'm new to riding. I just purchased a used 2009 Versy. My first bike. I just started having some problem with my clutch shifter. When shifting too 3rd gear and sometimes 4th,when I press it up with my foot a lot of times it won't engage the clutch. Then I give it a second harder press up and then it will engage. I don't know much of anything about bikes, but trying to learn quick. Does anyone have any ideas to what might be wrong?

Glad to be hear and thanks for any help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 04:19 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Welcome From Canada

to the forum, as to your clutch. Been some changes on the MK-3, I had a MK-1 and I am guessing you have one of 2 problems on the MK-2. First the MK-1 didn't have a means of lubing the pivot point, I installed a grease nipple on my 07 and cleaned off the rust and corrosion= end of shifting problem, you need to remove the foot peg and check / grease the shift lever pivot point. The MK-3 I had a similar problem, what I found this time was the foot peg mount was moving when trying to go above second gear, just remember the shift rod is pulling backward towards the foot peg, if anything is loose that cause lots of problems, one being at a certain point the shift lever will travel / jam into the shift rod if you are like me and have big feet and maximum adjustment for clearance. To see what I am referring to , get beside the bike and try up shifting to 3rd or 4th gear, notice how far the shift lever travels, there needs to be vertical clearance between the lever and shift rod. Last what kind of oil are you running?
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 05:53 PM
Super Moderator