Thinking about purchasing for 26yo son - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 04-29-2008, 04:21 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thinking about purchasing for 26yo son

I'm a 53 yo male that owns a FJR 1300 and thinking of buying a bike for my 26yo son , who as never driven a motorcycle. From any newby out there , give me your opinions if this is too much motorcycle to learn on. My other choice would be a Suzuki DRZ 400SM. By the way , I will have to get this approved by the S.O. Thanks for any comments.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 04-29-2008, 10:28 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Does the Versys fit him?

Good to have you on the forum, Hawkeye.

I'm not a newbie, but I married one and I've watched her learn to become a safe and effective rider. I think that, if I were in your position, my primary concern would be to find a bike that has the best "fit" - the best height, weight, bar position, footpeg position, center of gravity, etc. - for your son. Of course, you'll want a bike that's not overpowered, that steers lightly and accurately, and that is forgiving of newbie mistakes. I think the Versys fits that description . . . but, as I said already, it's important to be sure that it fits your son's physical proportions and his preferences for riding position. The Versys would have been much too tall of a bike for my wife's first ride.