Bryan from Florida - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 (permalink) Old 02-14-2012, 07:59 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Bryan from Florida -- update: bought one!

Hey everyone.

I'm Bryan, I'm 25 and I live in South Florida. I am new to motorcycling, I don't actually even have a bike yet, but I am going to get my license soon and am incredibly excited about it. I have tremendous respect for those who do any type of adventure riding and I would love to get out and do some of the things that many of you on here have done. I fell in love with the Versys when I started to research bikes last year, and would love to own one at some point.

I am at a point in my life where I have the opportunity to take a new direction. I graduated from college 2 years ago with the plan of going to PT school. Unfortunately that did not pan out, and it derailed my plans for the forseeable future. Since then, I've been working a steady job as a security guard, re-planning my life and saving up some money. Just when I thought things were going well and I had re-decided on a path in grad school, I had another momentous change: my 8-year relationship with the love of my life ended. So here I am now, with no commitments to anyone but myself, and virtually any path I want in front of me though none of them set in stone.

I have long dreamed of doing a cross-country tour on a motorcycle, and in light of the recent events someone suggested to me that I go out and do it. My immediate reaction was "no, I can't do that", and their response was "why not?". Well, I couldn't come up with a good answer, and thus my daydream became something of a more realistic daydream. I really do have no commitments right now, and I'm not sure when in my life I will be at a point like I am now where I actually have the opportunity to do something life-changing.