Buying a Versys - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-30-2011, 09:20 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Buying a Versys

I am new to the Post, 51 years old, I have been a rider most of my life and have owned a few bikes. Just sold a Honda VLX 750 and still have a VLX 650. But I really do like the Versys look and style. I have never been on this style of bike but it really fits my personalty. Most riders here in the south have Harleys and Crusiers. I guess I just don't fit in and really never have. I am looking at the BMW vs the Versys. I need some help from riders, is the 650 enough bike for me, the 650 honda is not enough, slow and needs another gear(if you know what I mean). I am really looking to do some 30-60 mile runs most of the time, but would like to do some 200 mile runs some times. Let me hear from you guys as I need to make up my mind asap. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-30-2011, 10:29 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Garage
I'm 49 the main reason for the versys for me was the riding position of it. in-expensive and good gas milage. But its alot more motorcycle than that. I added a 16T front sprocket works better for me. I ride local and long distance and every trip i'm more impressed with this little machine. I didn't think a 650 would be enough for me always had 1000cc or more but the versys has worked out well usally cruise in between 80-95 mph on the freeway with no issues. just did a 1400 mile trip with no issues. I do have an after market seat as well as highway pegs to make long trips more comfortable. I'm 6'2" 270lbs before gear and the bike hauls my big butt fine. Heres a photo while heading out to cali and you can see the bike was loaded before i sat on it again no issues except i thought the bike might fall over while on the kickstand a couple of times.