Spur of the Moment - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-06-2011, 06:10 PM Thread Starter
Kle

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Spur of the Moment

Howdy,

I'm new to the forum and scene. Short and sweet history, I haven't rode much on my previous bikes since there was trouble with them and I'm not good with mechanics and wasn't really interested at the time. So I moved away for a job, living in a rural area and have nothing to do (I'm a city boy). I said "Fack it, I'm getting a newer style bike" and was looking up dual purpose bikes because there is a lot of back roads which I then stumbled on the Versys. Thought it looked bad ass and fun, so I just went for it. Now I own a 2007 Versys and just window shopping for parts that I want on it now... I think my wallet is going to take a big hit this summer.

So this past Saturday I was hung over and turned on the TV for something to watch. "One Week" was on, watched it and thought it would be a good idea to go for a long ride on the bike. By the way, I did happen to mention this movie to a friend hours before I started watching, must be fate. Anyway, I got everything set up and set off at 7am Sunday morning. 17hours and 1400kms later I return home sore and tired. I didn't find Grumps (to those who seen "One Week") but I did see a lot of amazing scenery and got more comfortable with highway driving. Not too bad for the second ride on the bike and first time doing any sort of distance on a motor bike. On the negative side of things, I know what I need before what I want. Switch to brighter lights or 3rd party lighting system, a more comfortable seat, and maybe get a set of pegs for long highway driving. Any suggestions? Lastly, I'm never doing that much driving in a single day again.

Well, heres to a good summer with decent weather.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement