Switching rides - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 01:36 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Switching rides

Hello all,

I've been riding for about 18 months now and am thinking of trading in my Harley for a Versys. I use my bike to commute only. I've found over time, that HDs require a deep wallet to customize. How about the V? If I feel comfortable on it, is it something that I can ride daily and not worry about upgrading?

Thanks, from Southern AZ
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 03:51 PM

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Garage
First. No one says you have to customize a Harley. What model are you currently riding?

Second. There aren't many "customize" parts for a Versys so the temptation isn't there.

The only negative of a Versys coming from a Harley is going to be chain maintenance. It is no big deal to those who do it all the time, but it can be messy, and requires a place to perform the maintenance.

The Versys will have better suspension, will sit you up higher so you can see what is going on further down the road.

I personally spent an extra $3800 on my 2011 Versys adding hard luggage, crash bars, windshield, seats, etc. Some spend more if they want true off road wheels. Nothing I did I would call customizing. They were all necessities to make the bike able to tour on.

My Versys Travels:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 04:56 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
aboard!

Ed

'08 V AZ, '15 V650LT BC
Ride to D2D 2013, June '13

Ride to D2D 2015, June '15

Ride to D2D 2016, June '16

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 05:27 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)