Picked up a 2016 Versys - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

Like Tree6Likes
  • 3 Post By RealBigTuna
  • 3 Post By penwright1166

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-07-2017, 11:24 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Picked up a 2016 Versys

Hey all, just picked up a 2016 Versys today. I'm 6'1 with a 34 inch inseam and 180 lbs. The bike fits like a glove. Looking forward to packing on some miles.

I have some experience with dirt bikes but this is my first street bike. Have had my M license for around 8 years but never used it. Back at the time I got my M license, I bought a 2004 mach 1 mustang and set it up for road course track days. Great time, but expensive hobby. Sold that last summer and went without a vehicle for a little over a year and couldn't take it anymore so finally caved and picked this up.

Cross shopped it with a Yamaha FJ-09 which is hardly a cross shop. The Yamaha is SO much more bike. But for $2k less, I couldn't pass up getting the Versys seeing as this is my first street bike. I'm more comfortable on it as well being a little bit taller. Its far less twitchy than the Yamaha, coming from a new rider. Living in Chicago, I have to ride a good hour or so on the highway before I even get to some good roads, so comfort is everything. I also plan on taking some longer trips as I get better as a rider.

The bike has plenty of power for me. Mirrors are great, I can see everything behind me without issue. I get the most nervous at stop lights with people pulling up behind me on their cell phones, so this helps quite a bit. Can also see over most cars with how high the Versys sits, which is also a huge plus.