New Rider on Forum :) - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Arion
  • 1 Post By Diz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-04-2017, 04:35 PM Thread Starter
Diz

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
New Rider on Forum :)

Hi everyone!

First of all allow me to introduce myself. You can call me Diz, I'm from Romania - Eastern Europe. I'm 24 and just got my driver's license for motorcycles. I have little experience on motorcycle (the first time I rode one was a couple of months ago. I have dreamed to own and ride a motorcycle since I was a kid and now that dream is possible .

I am in an bit of a dilemma right now. I was looking for a bike that I can use as a commuter (not everyday but at least a few times per week), one that I can make long distance trips and use it for touring and that can handle a little off-road (nothing big, just country roads and maybe old dusty roads; but nothing like big rocks or mountain climbing xD).
The First bike that I saw was a Versys '08 and despite being and ugly duck it had something beautiful around it. I saw some reviews and decided that this will be in my top list. However, after I made some more research, I found about other models, such as Yamaha XT660Z Tenere (again from 2008-2010). After a couple of reviews and videos it took the 1st place from Versys. Now I feel like Versys is the one for me as I'll stick at least 80% on the road (at least for now). I'd like to take the bike through Europe and I saw that it can take a beating going off-road too. Also the Teneres in my country aren't that appealing as I've checked some. I couldn't manage to look at a Versys so far, but I'll see one in a few days, a model from 2006.

And now to my questions:

1. How's Versys off-road and on-road from your experience?
2. Do you recommend this bike as an all-rounder?
3. What big problems did you encounter with your bikes?