Hello fro NJ - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Twospot
  • 3 Post By CJRuffner
  • 1 Post By CJRuffner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-06-2017, 07:58 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Hello fro NJ

Hi all,
New to the forums here (obviously LOL). I currently ride a 2015 Harley Davidson FXDL (Low Rider). I am definitely not your stereotypical Harley rider. I'm not into the Harley "lifestyle". I've always loved Harley bikes though. So when I started riding 3 years ago, I gravitated to cruisers. Started on a Honda Shadow for a year, then bought the bike I have now.

Over my first year of riding I became more familiar with adventure bikes. Problem has been that I'm vertically challenged. I am 5'4" (but a bit chubby so I have some weight). So I would never attempt to get on an ADV bike. Then I discovered BMW F700GS lowered suspension model and there was hope!! The next problem... there are two dealers within 80 miles of me, both which will not let me test ride. I won't buy a bike I can't ride! So I started looking at other options like the Versys, VStrom, and Super Tenere, but finding they are just really tall for me.

So after having a few years on my Harley I have really focused on only putting one foot down in traffic. I figured if I could get comfortable with that I may have chance. I am also tired of having to put money into my Harley to make it what it will never be for me.