Newbie here - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-27-2017, 04:25 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Newbie here

While a newbie here I'm definitely not new to motorcycling. I've been on two wheels for the past 56 years. Yah, I'm an ole fart. I just sold my Gold Wing and Lees-ure Lite camping trailer. Gold Wing was my 7th one. Over the years my wife has owned 5. We also dabbed in the Honda ST's. I have had 4 1100's and a 1300. My wife has had 3 1100's.

I have been very fortunate in that we have ridden on two bikes for 38 years together. Unfortunately that all came to an end Oct 2013 when I was hit from behind by an uncaring caged at 55 mph totaling out my ST1100, my camping trailer and all my riding gear. ATGATT you know! I was out of commission for a whole year and at the same time my wife said she's done riding, you can have my bike, a 2003 ST1100P.

After healing I rode the ST with a new camping trailer but needed something larger to pull it, i.e., the Gold Wing, 2002 1800 ABS. But as the years are creeping up on me, decided to go with something lighter.

Enter the 2016 Versys 650LT which a good friend of mine was selling after having it only a year and he loaded it with farkles. He has two other bikes, no time to ride the Kawi. This is not my first Kawi as I bought an enduro many years ago.

So far I am quite impressed with the Versys. I did own a 2012 Suzuki VStrom 650 for a short period of time but it didn't work for me. I'm hoping that the Kawi will serve me well?

This Versys is my 33rd motorcycle and I'm closing in on a million miles on two wheels. We both have ridden in all lower 48 states, most of Canada, and I rode in Italy the four years I was stationed there. After selling the Wing, I couldn't stop riding until my goal, 1 mil, is complete.

Retired Air Force (1986)
2016 Kawi Versys 650LT
Sponsored Links