New Versys Owner - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By weljo2001

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 06:02 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
New Versys Owner

Greetings,

Long time motorcyclist returning after a brief hiatus. I am an engineer - so I like bikes that that don't drag parts in corners - and I don't like to dress like a pirate in public - so no Harley for me.

My last three bikes were a Triumph Thunderbird 900, a KLR 650, and a Honda 599. Each had good and bad points. Power has never been a huge consideration for me - there is a speed limit after all.

In my search, I considered the Versys 650 and 1000, the NC700x, V-strom 650, Triumph and BMW 800s, the Super Tenere, Triumph Street Twin, FJ-09, BMW R1200GS and R1200R, and the Guzzi V-7 and V-9 (which are gorgeous in person - may need one of these at some point).

Found a great deal on a 2016 Versys 650 LT in the fastest color (matte orange), OTD for less than $8,000. So I bought it. Live in Massachusetts, so it will be a long winter waiting until I can get out on the road.

I ordered the 47L topcase and the tank bag. Any advice offered on essential accessories (centerstand, heated grips, etc.) is very welcomed.

MADIRTGUY
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 06:06 PM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Garage

2009 Blue Versys.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sold
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Farkles...

My Video Channel

My Photos...

I'm not a Gynecologist. "But I'll Take A Look"

Everyone has a plan 'till they get punched in the mouth...
Mike Tyson

"Ya'll can go to hell, I'm goin' to Texas!"...Davey Crockett
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-27-2016, 06:29 PM Thread Starter