2015 Versys 1000 from Ohio! - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

14Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-22-2016, 02:22 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
2015 Versys 1000 from Ohio!

Hello! Names Jack!

I started riding in December on a brand new 2016 FZ07. Took my MSF course in the spring and got my license.

Really loved the bike, but being 6'4" I found it very uncomfortable on the highway. Due to where I live, its difficult to go anywhere without getting on the highway. So I would end up making circuits around town, and was enjoying the ride but getting bored.

Got into some research and was looking into a Versys 650, Versys 1000, Tiger 800 XR/XRX and a BMW GS800.

Got the best deal and most trade in on the Versys 1000, used with 1165 miles.

Took it out last night after work, put 28 miles on it, mostly highway. Absolute dream in comparison!

Thought I would regret it possibly, but instantly did not when I was on the highway! Super cool bike, got an aftermarket windshield coming, stock one is a bit short for me and the buffeting noise is very loud at the top of my helmet, its actually quieter if I drop the screen lower.

Anyway, thanks for having me! Any recommendations on new hand guards would be welcome!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 09-22-2016, 03:27 PM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Garage
Congrats on a great bike. I have a 2016 V-1000. At your height you might want to check out www.motowerks.com for some Peg Lowering Block & maybe some Highway Peg Mounts. Made my bike much more comfortable. What windscreen did you go with?? I have a Tall V-Stream coming in today.

Versys 1000 Moto Werk's Goodies by weljo2001, on Flickr

JoeLardGut likes this.

2009 Blue Versys.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sold