Sprocket change - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Introductions Just joined? Tell us about yourself and your ride.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By E327

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-13-2016, 07:12 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Sprocket change

Hello all, sorry if this is too dumb but I'm a newbie. Can anyone explain the benefit or why people change their sprockets? I'd like to have 1st gear more useable and I do mainly street / easy riding. Not worried about losing high end speed. Wondering if a sprocket change could make my V feel "less peppy" in low gears?
Thx.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2016, 04:54 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffhauser77 View Post
Hello all, sorry if this is too dumb but I'm a newbie. Can anyone explain the benefit or why people change their sprockets? I'd like to have 1st gear more useable and I do mainly street / easy riding. Not worried about losing high end speed. Wondering if a sprocket change could make my V feel "less peppy" in low gears?
Thx.
Welcome from AZ!

FWIW - in OVER 110,000 miles among THREE Vs, I've never felt the need to change the bikes' gearing, and, in fact, IF you ever get into really tough terrain, you'll probably wish it was lower....

Ed
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 V AZ, '15 V650LT BC
Ride to D2D 2013, June '13

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Ride to D2D 2015, June '15

Ride to D2D 2016, June '16

post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2016, 05:01 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffhauser77 View Post
Thx.