Ah, the Texas hill country... - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Rides Show off your Versys...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-08-2009, 07:58 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Ah, the Texas hill country...

I took a ride today. It was another one of those "This is for all the guys up north, stuck inside" rides. The weather
wasn't as good as I had hoped it would be. It was in the low 60's, but felt cooler. It was cloudy the whole time
and the wind was strong & gusty. It was blowing me all over the place. Still, I managed about 180 miles or so.

Yesterday was a much nicer day & I did take my camera, but the batteries were dead. Oh well, that just meant I
didn't have to stop as much. I used the wife's camera today. It's has rechargeable batteries.

I know I've touted it before, but the Texas hill country is a great place to ride. I enjoy myself every time I go out
that way. The thing is, I'm a terrible photographer with a cheap camera. Hopefully, you'll get a decent idea of the
place anyway...

The trip begins just west of San Antonio on Hwy 16. This is a nice, wide, well maintained road (read: you can go
pretty damned fast, not that I would advocate such behavior).

I stopped to get a pic of the 'curvy roads ahead' sign & managed to catch a group of riders enjoying the day...

Every time I've ridden through this area, I swore I'd take a picture the next time through. Well I finally got it.
Of course, all the leaves are gone, so it doesn't look as nice. I'll get it again in the spring. The trees create a
nice canopy, almost like riding through a tunnel. Notice the hole in the bottom of the tree to the right...

Looks like the Catholics were here! This is a fairly common thing here in Texas, seeing statues & pictures of
Mother Mary here & there. Although, I admit this is a strange place to put her. It may be a marker, someone
may have had an accident here & passed away. We'll probably never know...