Versys Sighting... In My Garage! - Kawasaki Versys Forum
Member Rides Show off your Versys...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-19-2011, 11:30 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Versys Sighting... In My Garage!

Over the weekend I picked up the Versys that Ribeye was selling in Idaho. Thanks, Ribeye! It was a pleasure doing business with you. The bike is awesome.

I flew out to eastern Idaho on Saturday and picked the bike up on Sunday. Monday morning, I started riding back home to Oregon. Day one I rode around 330 miles in pretty hot, arid temperatures. There wasn't much in the way of topography the first day. I rode ATGATT with my mesh jacket and pants sans liners and still worked up a sweat. I don't know if it was all of the straight highway, me not being in good shape, or a combination of the two, but I was getting pretty sore in my lower back and posterior after the first hundred miles or so. I took a couple of breaks along the way, grabbed an early dinner and before I knew it, I was nearly halfway home.

Day two I rode 388 miles from Ontario, OR to Eugene, OR. I didn't have to worry about sweating at all. Wow, what a change in temps today. I guess climbing a couple of mountain passes will do that. The ride from Ontario to Burns was uneventful. I stopped just before Burns to fill up and put on a fleece pullover... I wasn't quite ready to put my liners in my jacket yet. Well, after passing through Burns and another hour, I was ready for my liners. I got rained on a couple of times and the pullover just wasn't cutting it. Wow! The liners made a HUGE difference. I was pretty comfy there for awhile. At least until I made it through Bend. Santiam Pass kicked my butt. It was raining and probably close to 35 degrees.