Switched wiring for driving lights w/o using a relay? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-29-2010, 06:26 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Switched wiring for driving lights w/o using a relay?

I just installed a cheap wal-mart set of driving lights and have it installed using the on/off switch that came with them. I'm brand new to electrical wiring. I am hoping to be able to pick up an FZ-1 in the near future, but until then is there any way to wire the lights so that they will be come on with the bike without using an FZ-1 or another relay? Like, is it possible to tap the hot wire that normally goes to the battery, into say the headlight wire? Will that overload the headlight fuse?

It's probably going to be a few weeks before I can afford to pick up the FZ-1 but in the mean time, it's really a pain to remember to turn off the driving lights and would love to find a short term solution.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-30-2010, 07:46 PM

It might be too hard on the h/l circuit and fuse to handle the additional wattage of the driving lights.

You can buy a 30amp horn/light relay like this:

http://www.boardrelays.com/Detail.as...303.100_BU5083

from most any auto parts store (or maybe even WalMart). Usually around $5 or less.

In the wiring diagram shown in the above link:

Hook your driving lights' switch up to terminal 87.

Run a fused wire from you battery positive to terminal 30.

Splice into your low-beam wire and run it to terminal 85.

Run a ground wire to terminal 86.

Ignore terminal 87a.

(These are standard terminal numbers you will see on all relays of this type.)

Make sure all connections are insulated with tape or heat shrink tubing (including 87a).