Need help installing SW-MOTECH crash bars :-) - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-11-2015, 04:38 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Need help installing SW-MOTECH crash bars :-)

I just picked up my first motorcycle ('14 Versys) two days ago and want to get SW-MOTECH crash bars installed before I try riding it (key word there is "try" ).

I've never worked on a motorcycle before and am concerned about screwing something up while trying to install the crash bars, so I would really appreciate a bit of help!

Question 1: Is it OK to remove the left and right engine mounts at the same time? I don't see how else to do it, but I don't want the engine to fall down

Question 2: Do I need to remove any of the plastic pieces (fairings?) before installing the crash bars?

Appreciate your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-12-2015, 01:56 AM

Garage
Do 1 at a time.

Just go over the instructions and work slowly and methodically.

Some photo's of my install looks like I removed pretty much all the plastics but maybe I was doing other things as well?

Looks like I let the engine slip a bit from memory I put my jack under the engine to lift it back into place

You can look at all my pics of the install in this album if it's any help to you

http://s47.photobucket.com/user/Mavs...?sort=3&page=1

Last edited by MaverickAus; 07-12-2015 at 02:05 AM.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-12-2015, 09:47 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Maverick has great pics and detail there.

I just did mine in the last months, the one thing that helped me the most, since Motech is a bit lacking with the instructionals, was this image I found on the net, as it shows how/what/where all the fasteners go eventually.