Windshield physics question, anyone?? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-18-2010, 01:03 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Windshield physics question, anyone??

Ok gang, I have a stock windshield set at the highest setting. My V is the first bike Ive ever had with a windshield. Last bike was a bonneville. So I have no experience in this area. I am 6'2" and currently when riding the V I have clean air pretty much from just below my chin and down. My entire helment is outside of the quiet area but is in clean air. If there is a "buffeting" area of dirty air it is right at my neck so it doesn't move my helmet around at all.

So, here is my question. I have thought about a taller touring screen and followed many threads on the topic. Well, my helemet is about 11-12" high or so, so does that mean my new screen would need to be at least 11-12" taller than the old one to get the dirty air over my head? I would like more wind protection, but I dont want to move the turbelence up somewhere in the middle of my face. So is the height of the new screen the most important factor, or can the actual shape/ curve of the new screen actually move turbulence higher than just the height of the wind shield?

I know all that may be a little hard to follow, but I want to get a screen that will enlarge the clean air pocket but not bounce my head around with turbulence. Any advice here would be really appreciated.

Ryan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-18-2010, 01:46 PM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Garage
I'm also 6'2" I got a lot of input from the guys on this site that was very helpful. I went with the Givi Windshield mounted at the top position. It made a huge differance can actually ride around with my modular helmet in the up position instead of always being closed because of the wind

2009 Blue Versys.