Exhaust note - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-10-2009, 09:18 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Exhaust note

I decided to post this question in the cosmetic mods section even though it's about exhausts. I want to put on an aftermarket exhaust for the pure sound of it. I'm after a really nice sounding deep but not ear shattering exhaust note. I'm a cop in a small town and shaking the windows thru town would be asking for trouble. At the same time I want to be heard. My Staff Sgt. drives a Harley and he says I'm wasting my time. He says that small twins just make an obnoxious long fart sound with aftermarket exhausts. There are alot of sound bites on the web of bikes being revved on the kick stand which doesn't really help me out. Any thoughts/opinions /advice would be much appreciated.

I hope you'll forgive me but I have an er6n not a versys. The engines are so similar I think the sound would be virtually identical.

'09 er6n
'89 Transalp
"For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-10-2009, 11:11 AM

I put a Scorpion on mine. It was way too loud. I put an aftermarket (actually a Harley product) baffle in it. Now it sounds like a Ferrarri. It sounds really good, but still kind of loud when I get on it. The part that bothers me most is the phrase "For Offroad Use Only" stamped right on it. I know I am busted if I ever get stopped. The Police around here just won't give you a break.
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-10-2009, 11:36 AM

I like my Arrow WITH the DB killer in. Out it's way too loud. I am partial to the LV sound. Went with the Arrow strictly from a price point. It's quality built, but inexpensive.