• 1 Post By onewizard

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-25-2017, 06:32 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Text / Message/Mistaken for a Young Buck

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeinmemphis View Post
Thanks for the info OneWizard. I've been riding bikes for almost 30 years so I have a pretty good hand on setting the bike up. I have a set of heat demon grips here just waiting to be put on that I have left over from another project before. I already have peg lowering brackets, fuzeblock, gps mount, thermobob, givi side cases on order. Only problem is going to be finding time to tear it apart when I won't be wanting to ride it.
Me over 40 years of riding, just thought it appropriate to post this, funny thing is I missed something real important, that 2015 owners have come across. The Adjustable wind screen is to have a concave washer on each adjustment knob, plus 1 large flat washer, many of us have found 2 large flat washers, end result is knob vibrates loose and in one case the knob went missing on a ride. I am sure Eddie can fill you in on this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-22-2017, 12:19 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Gen 3 V-Stream shield; knobs don't stay tight

I've gone back-and-forth between the OEM windshield and my PUIG 5999 several times, and it's ALWAYS been a PITA! You end up needing another pair of hands (w/ REALLY long fingers!) to hold all the little bits that try to fall out once you've removed the four bolts, and two 'adjuster' knobs.

As I was doing it again yesterday, I decided to look into my SERVICE MANUAL (for a change......) to see what Kawi says to do. SAME thing I've been doing, so I started in on the job. Removed BOTH 'adjuster' knobs, started on the bolts, then a thought 'hit' me - what if I put a nut onto the bolts that the 'adjuster' knobs screw onto...?