De-Tune Throttle - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2015, 11:08 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Garage
De-Tune Throttle

I am a newbie on a Versys 650 and I think I may have gotten too much bike for my skill level. I am having difficulty controlling the throttle smoothly. Is it possible to de-tune the throttle? Can I do this myself? I would like it to give me power more slowly. The bike has way more power than I need so I would happily give up power to make the throttle easier to control.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2015, 11:15 AM

try controlling it with the clutch
also highly recommend going to a 44 tooth rear sprocket, it really helps tame the throttle responce
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2015, 11:51 AM

Garage
I can say that I had the same off/on throttle issue when I first got the versys, I'm now about 2000 miles into it and have gotten to more used to it and feel I have more control, still not perfect, but better, so.. perhaps give it a little time.
Lours_Polaire likes this.

Glen 08 Red

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2015, 12:16 PM

Garage
I second Millarg on that !

Also, upshifting at a lower RPM, like 3500, would render your bike more manageable

Finally, somewhere on this forum, their's a mod on the fuel injection system, often mention by Invader (I also think that he is the one that came out with that mod), that seems to get the throttle a bit more easier to handle. You should do a search on that matter (also it's a do it yourself kind of thing)

My 2 cents

LOP
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 10-15-2015, 01:58 PM
RMS

some where in this forum, they have talked about the over sea`s bike`s that have a jumper wire placed in to the under seat wire harness to reduce to power of the engine