Lowering Forks - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-11-2008, 10:15 AM Thread Starter

Lowering Forks

In anticipation of receiving "Speedy Gonzales'" lowering kit, I dropped the forks to the lowest end of the non-chamfered portion of the sliders two days ago.

Wow.

I have been fiddling with bike suspensions for many years and have gone through all sorts of preload/fork oil/damping/compression/geometry settings to make a bike work for me. I did not expect much to change with the Versys, but boy, it made a very noticeable difference.

First, I noticed the bike lowered about 0.5 inches. I can more comfortably get the balls of my feet on the ground.

I also noticed that, for some reason, it feels more comfortable to sit nearer the tank. I have been sitting with my butt at the stop end of the seat, sliding up to the tank for twisties action, but now it feels more natural to sit closer. I suspect the angle of the seat is the reason, but the angle is no more uncomfortable than before.

Then there is the handling. The bike still flicks side-to-side easily. Maybe a little more than before. What really got my attention is how much more solid the front feels. I can feel the road through the suspension much better than before. I am sure that the increased weight on the front wheel is the reason for this. On the highway, I could sense no instability. In fact, it seemed almost more stable than before.

I thought the reduced trail might make make the bike a bit less stable, but so far that is not the case. It does not appear that fender clearance will be an issue, either.