Oxford v0.8 Heated Grips install (VIDEO) - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-05-2013, 02:12 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Oxford v0.8 Heated Grips install (VIDEO)

Hi All,

I'm sure there are plenty of these install videos floating around the internet, but I thought that since I was installing my new heated grips, I'd might as well make a video of it. These cost me CAD$150, tax included, from my local dealer.

VIDEO DISCLAIMER: I'm a noob.

POST INSTALL IMPRESSIONS: I love them! I love them! I love them!! Now that winter is on the way, these couldn't have been installed at a better time. Just yesterday I was riding to work in 2 degree (Celsius) weather. During my 15 minute commute, the grips get up to temperature in just a few minutes. I start out at 75% then switch to 50% once the gloves are to toasty warm. 100% is way too hot.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-05-2013, 03:36 PM

I like these also. I got a set for about $90 from Amazon.com, and installed them in about 15 minutes. They work well and really help. I've used them down to 25 degrees. At that temp, my hands feel cold (especially the thumbs), but are at least still mobile.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-05-2013, 06:53 PM

I just installed a set of these last week. They are great.
Paid $49.95 from Twisted Throttle.
Install went easy. I mounted the controller on the bar using the supplied bracket and a bought clamp. Mounted the Heaterz brain box to the side of the battery box using the supplied double sided tape. The only issue during the install was I pinched the wire going to the grips in the steering stop as I was testing for full function of the steering and controls. The grips still work but I did a number on the wire.
I rode to work yesterday, it was 28F and I used 50%. 100% is just uncomfortable.