Extra Fuel - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Motopsycho

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-29-2012, 12:08 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Extra Fuel

I want to carry either a 2 gallon gas can (rotopax, kolpin, etc) or build a permanent 4 gallon tank on my 2010 Kawasaki Versys. A few questions . . .

Is there anyone on the site that builds custom tanks? I'm a professional mechanic and amateur welder, so I could do most of the work for this except the actual welding of the tank (I can't weld aluminum)

I've dug through internet searches and found ideas on how to carry cans of gas. I built some brackets to mount in place of my passenger foot pegs to hold one gallon tanks, but decided I didn't like them and threw them in the pile of broken dreams. I don't like the small cans that resemble water bottles as they take up a lot of space but don't hold very much.

I'm leaning more towards a 2 gallon rotopax or kolpin setup as I really don't want to punch a hole in my gas tank and add a second fuel pump. If the clubs don't allow "loose" cans, I just might have to bite the bullet and build a tank setup. Also, as you can see, it's already really crowded where I would mount an auxiliary tank. I could possibly add a tank under the tail between the saddle bags, but the bike has over 6" of rear tire travel and there could be a clearance issue. Or I could do two tanks, one on either side, and run a hose off each to some location lower on the bike where the pump could be located.

I think there is a guy on here from Minnesota with a red V that has done this, but I can't find his thread.

I'll post a link to a youtube video of my bike as it sits right now when it finally uploads . . .sheesh youtube is slow lately.

Here are some pictures of it.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.