• 1 Post By Duffy
  • 2 Post By AdventureSeeker

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-06-2016, 11:24 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Heated Grips (Help)

Hi guys,

I'd like to preface this post by saying that I've been riding for about 5 years...BUT...I've never gotten into any sort of modding or features and whathaveyou. I currently have a 2014 Versys 650.

So I decided to try my hand at installing some heated grips as the weather is starting to get cold. I ordered a set of BikeMaster heated grips (https://amzn.com/B009Z1KQ2M). As per the instructions, they recommend connecting the ground to a solid ground and connecting your hot end to the ignition wire. That's fine.

I purchased a continuity test and was able to find a Aux connection by the battery. When the ignition is turned on, I get continuity. When the ignition is off, no continuity. I've concluded I've found the aux ignition wire.

However, when plugging the heated system into the (I think) Aux ignition wire, there is not enough power for the grip. The controller just blinks.

As of right now, I've got it straight connected to the battery and it works great. I just have to ensure I turn them off.

The question I have is thus- Do you guys have any input that would help me resolve this situation? Am I doing something wrong?

I'd appreciate any input you guys might have!!

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-06-2016, 11:44 AM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Garage
Buy a better set of grips......Amazon has the best price....

JoisaFatAss(_0_) likes this.

2009 Blue Versys.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sold
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Farkles...

My Video Channel

My Photos...

I'm not a Gynecologist. "But I'll Take A Look"

Everyone has a plan 'till they get punched in the mouth...