Replacing stock exhaust - is it worth it? - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 62 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 07:04 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Replacing stock exhaust - is it worth it?

Please excuse me if this is a dumb or even oxymoronic post. I'm a little new to the whole business of improving/installing things.

What I want:
========
Noticeable increase in acceleration (not necessarily higher top speeds)

What I don't want
===========
I don't it to be loud. I actually like the stock sound a lot.

What I've already done
===============
Replaced stock front sprocket to a 14 tooth. It rocks! Just curious if it could rock even more with another pipe.

Any ideas? Is it as simple as "if you don't want it loud you might as well keep the stock pipe"? i.e. Is the loudness proportional to the performance increase?
Or is it maybe so little of an increase in performance anyways, that I might as well forget it?

If the answer is "hell yes, even a quiet aftermarket exhaust will make a big difference", then the followup question would be these "power commanders" I hear about. Is that needed as well?
I could see myself spending maybe $500 or so on this if you guys think it will be noticeable difference.

Any help/opnions appreciated.

Thanks!

// Martin - aka torque-addict

Last edited by Martin Lindhe; 08-13-2010 at 07:07 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 62 (permalink) Old 08-13-2010, 09:07 PM

If you're looking for "seat of the pants" increase, you're going to be disappointed.
You're not going to get anything close to the difference of the sprocket change that you did. The old saying goes something like "How much hp do you want? Well, how much do you have to spend?!" You could get as much as 100hp out of the lil V motor with a LOT of modification. However, you'd be a heckuva lot better off in the long run trading it in on a Z1000.