Lots of oil around front sprocket area. Normal? - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-23-2015, 08:27 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Lots of oil around front sprocket area. Normal?

I am still relatively new to chain-driven bikes. As of late, I've noticed a very slowly developing oil slick under the bike. It's about a half-dollar size at this point. I grabbed a flash light and checked under the bike to find oil pooled at the lowest point of plastic engine guard. I wiped it with a finger and it was black oil of some sort. It has been several weeks since I last oiled the chain (bike has been sitting a lot) and I used WD40 as the chain lube.

There just seems to be a lot of oil sprayed around the front sprocket area. Hopefully I am worrying over nothing.

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg frontsprocket2800x600.jpg (321.6 KB, 215 views)
File Type: jpg frontsprocket12800x600.jpg (300.3 KB, 213 views)

Last edited by blazblu82; 12-23-2015 at 08:38 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-23-2015, 08:54 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
To me it looks like you're skimping on the lube.
Oil is cheap...drive sets are spendy.
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-23-2015, 09:02 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLACK DOG View Post
To me it looks like you're skimping on the lube.
Oil is cheap...drive sets are spendy.
I'm not going to oil it if the bike isn't getting used; or, at least, not as often. Even when I do oil, feels like I'm using half a spray can of WD40 on the chain.

post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-23-2015, 09:42 PM

Although there are as many opinions on oil as there are chain lube, in my humble experience WD40 does not stay on the chain for any appreciable length of time. Whereas a decent chain lube will coat, lube and stay on the chain for a longer period of time, thus giving you better longevity of the lube. Your choice, your chain.