After accident fork/frame advice - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By weljo2001
  • 1 Post By Süsser Tod

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 09:59 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
After accident fork/frame advice

After an unfortunate incident on my way home from work one day I'm in need of some repair advice from the community. I hit a culvert which resulted in a bent from rim, bent handlebars, a crack at the base of the handlebar clamp, and a crack clean through the upper triple clamp.

This is the damage I can see. These parts can be replaced no problem. However, I'm nervous about the possibility that I may have damaged the forks or the frame in a way that is not obvious to the naked eye. I change my own oil but I'm no mechanic. I've taken all the body work off to check over the frame as best I can. I see no bends or cracks. I look at the forks and they seem straight and parallel, but doubt my own expertise. I've ridden the bike up and down the street in front of my house and other than the bumps from the flat spot in the rim it seems to track straight and true.

So, is there a more accurate and reliable way to test my forks/frame outside of taking it to the shop?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2015-09-03 16.25.25.jpg (66.9 KB, 112 views)
File Type: jpg 2015-09-04 16.55.05.jpg (50.0 KB, 117 views)
File Type: jpg 2015-09-04 16.55.22.jpg (46.3 KB, 112 views)
File Type: jpg 2015-09-02 19.34.02.jpg (35.2 KB, 101 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-02-2015, 10:55 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
The rim can be straightened by shops that do that.

Ed
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 V AZ, '15 V650LT BC
Ride to D2D 2013, June '13

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Ride to D2D 2015, June '15

Ride to D2D 2016, June '16