Whirring noise coming from engine/chain with videos - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2015, 03:45 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Whirring noise coming from engine/chain with videos

Versys newbie here hoping for some help from the vets.

A little background first. I purchased my 2009 Kawasaki Versys 650 last October from a great seller in the Denver area. He actually rode it all the way out to Lincoln, Nebraska for me. I bought the bike with about 4,200 miles on it. It currently has about 6,000 miles on it. The bike itself is in immaculate shape and until recently, I never had any issues with it.

A few weeks ago, I cleaned and lubed the chain for the first time since I have owned it. Since then, whenever I'm in gear and on the throttle, I'm hearing a whirring noise down by my left foot. It's very loud. The sound dissipates completely when I pull the clutch in, and/or I'm in neutral.

I thought it was odd that this sound would appear right after I clean/lubed the chain, so I figured this noise was caused by something with the chain, and not the engine.

This morning, I put my bike up on some stands and I took apart some of the plastic bits near the front sprocket and cleaned/lubed that whole area. I also took some video, which I'll post below. The noise did not go away after I took it out on the road.

I would really appreciate any insight from those of you out there with much more experience with this bike than me. I'm hoping to figure this out without taking it to a shop. Much thanks.

Is this clicking noise normal? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92ep0wUSb6Q

No Video

Should the chain move that much when in gear? Is it moving around because I have the bike up on a stand? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ealcNdvX-8

No Video

Last edited by Yeti; 06-21-2015 at 03:49 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2015, 05:19 PM