Missing front brake caliper bolt - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-19-2008, 11:41 PM Thread Starter
4vX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Missing front brake caliper bolt

Anyone had this problem? Again, I'm new to cycling. Today I noticed some "clicking" near the front of the V while backing out of my garage when I applied the front brake. Just over 1K miles, so there can't be anything wrong. While backing up again at the ATM 10 miles later, I heard the same noise (this time with the motor off), looked at the front wheel, and noticed one of the two front left brake caliper bolts was missing and the other was loose! Fortunately for me, the bottom bolt was the one that remained in place and was holding the caliper relatively stationary during forward braking. The clicking noise made since because during backward braking the caliper rotated toward the wheel rim. Who knows how many more miles I had left before an "over the handle bars E ticket ride" while at highway speeds. Next stop, my local Kawi dealer to get an explaination of what my $300 dealer prep included.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-20-2008, 12:19 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Wow... I'm glad you caught it on time. When upgrading to Vesrah front pads, I noticed that the front caliper mount bolts' head was a bit soft and easy to strip. I'd like to upgrade them bolts.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-20-2008, 09:00 AM

Send a message via AIM to scaryfast777 Send a message via Skype™ to scaryfast777
I would be seriously upset with the dealership if this happened to me. I had a somewhat similar situation with my V. Although not as severe as a missing caliper bolt.....the dealership put my whole front wheel on backwards, including tire and rotors which are both directional and are unsafe turning in an improper direction. I would see about getting that $300 back as you avoided them a lawsuit by catching it before something happened.