Basic maintenance tips for a complete newbie? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-14-2010, 12:23 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Basic maintenance tips for a complete newbie?

Hey everyone!

Please forgive my complete lack of knowledge and experience with motorcycles. Last I handled bikes I was 12, had some crazy 2-stroke dirt bikes that I never cared for myself.

So any tips on what I should do on a regular basis that doesn't require mechanic knowledge or lots of tools? CAn I lube the chain myself for instance? How often?

I just had the bike fully serviced 2 weeks ago when I bought it used (and they said it was in great shape).

Any help appreciated. Thanks!!

// Martin

2008 Red Versys, 10K miles
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-14-2010, 02:34 PM

Check Tire Pressure,Oil Level Daily or everytime before you ride.

Also you can lube your chain every two weeks to 30 days with chain wax

This a good start
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-14-2010, 02:40 PM

Here is one of many links to the manual.
http://rapidshare.com/files/14466166/versys_manual.pdf
http://www.kawasakiversys.com/forums...ead.php?t=2846
This engine is low maintenance compared to the old two strokes. Just check your fluids occasionally, and like Southbark said, chain and tires are the essentials. I am no mechanic either, and I have had 10,000 trouble free miles. I do recommend getting at minimum a rear wheel stand, Harbor Freight has one for 39 bucks that works.

My Album:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Element; 04-22-2010 at 04:18 PM.

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 04-14-2010, 05:20 PM

Rear stand