Rear shock questions - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-29-2014, 09:45 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Rear shock questions

I've been riding my '08 Versys for several years and I'm considering upgrading the rear shock. Maybe the Progressive 465. This shock is offered in standard length and 1" lower ride height version. The "1 inch lower" one has reduced travel (stroke) when compared to stock.

I am trying to decide which I want.

If I bought the "lowered" one, I would also lower the front by about 7/8" by adjusting the triple clamps on the front end. I would think that this would improve cornering feel when riding the twistys (not on a track). If I did this, how much would I be sacrificing the comfort level when commuting or touring?

How much would I be sacrificing handling in the corners if I bought the standard length 465?

How much better is either of the 465's than the stock shock?

Is the 465 shock so superior to the stock shock that even the shorter one would be more comfortable when commuting/touring?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-29-2014, 11:37 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by trialsguy View Post
How much better is either of the 465's than the stock shock?

Is the 465 shock so superior to the stock shock that even the shorter one would be more comfortable when commuting/touring?
Bill (Buckeye) can answer your questions, but here's MY shot: the stock V shock is made to be OK, while the aftermarket ones are made to be PDG (at a price that Kawi will NOT build into our bikes). I know that Bill LOVES his 465 and said it transforms his V, as do my R1 shocks. They're not ONLY more comfortable - they are SUPERIOR in all ways!

- -

I can NOT imagine riding w/ the stock shock anymore...! BTW - Bill initially tried to go w/ an R1 shock, but it turned out to be from a year that will NOT work on the Vs.

Ed