Chain adjustment bolt - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-28-2014, 09:49 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Chain adjustment bolt

After installing my new rear sprocket today I managed to break off one of my chain tensioning bolts. I drilled it out and tapped new threads. I am embarrassed to ask but what are the bolts made of? Plain steel, stainless steel or other? I know they go into the aluminum swingarm? I am off to the local hardware store to buy new ones and want to make sure I purchase the right ones. I am no mechanic but the pleasure get out of doing these minor repairs is tremendous.

I figured it out!! A good day is when you can't see through your visor or windshield b/c of the bug splatter!!!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-29-2014, 02:00 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Many reports of broken chain adjustment bolts lately, more if you're near the salty ocean. Oxidation makes the bolt tighter over time as it's not rotated often, and it's exposed to moisture in the swingarm. They're not stainless steel, but they should be. Anti-seize compound should be applied to the threads when it's still new... It helps to retap aluminum bores to clean and sharpen the threads.

M8 x 45mm bolts and nuts available in polished Grade 316 stainless steel, or titanium:

http://www.probolt-usa.com/stainless...-2-x-nuts.html

http://www.probolt-usa.com/vaf/produ...F&prodtype=513
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-29-2014, 08:04 AM Thread Starter

Thank you Invader for your reply. I certainly do live right by the mighty Alantic ocean everything rusts here. We have a saying. "We don't tan, we rust!" Off I go to purchase stainless steel bolts and anti seize.

I figured it out!! A good day is when you can't see through your visor or windshield b/c of the bug splatter!!!!