Crankshaft Sensor Anyone??? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-12-2009, 03:47 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Crankshaft Sensor Anyone???

Just wondering if anyone else had this happen yet..

I went out this morning and gave my 09 Versys a wash. I didn't start it up before washing as I usually do, just wheeled it ot and began hosing.

When I was done, I tried to fire it up and go for a ride. No coughs, sputters, anything, just kept cranking over with no result.

I'm no professional mechanic, but I do know my way around a bike. I figured at first, its just being cold blooded as it was pretty chilly this morning in NS, but as there was no sign of it trying to start at all. It acted like there was no fire at all.

Frustrated, I figured, I'd check for spark. Took fairings, tank, etc etc off to get at the plugs and look things over from the top, no spark at all.. in either plug. Hmmmmmmmm. Weird, it ran right up until last weekend when I put it away without a hitch.

I then decided to peek at the manual to see if there were any suggestions and it was then that I found out how to read the codes. 2 long flashes and 1 short, meaning it is a Crankshaft sensor failure. Apparently when one of these sensors fails, it shuts down the fuel and ignition systems, explaining my dilema.

It is a holiday today, but I'm going to give my local Kawi dealer a call tomorrow to fix it as it should be all under warranty still. I bought the bike June 30, 2009 and it has (sadly) less than 2000 kms on it!!!- It was on moving truck in storage for about 2 months.

Just wondering if anyone out there EVER heard of one of these going??? I know I never have.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-12-2009, 05:54 PM

Have you tried disconnecting the battery for awhile and then powering back up? It might have been a glitch that will go away once the memory is erased.

10 Duc Streetfighter S (black)
09 Versys