Fuel octane rating - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 06:50 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Fuel octane rating

Got a good question about fuel type use in our Versys. I was doing my air filter replacement today and noticed the sticker on the left (sitting on bike) side of the tank under the fairing says that the minimum octane is 91 yet the owners manual says 87 on page 50? I have been running 87 for 12000 miles with no problems, just weird to notice this after the fact. Forgive me if this is posted somewhere else as I searched for a while and didn't find this issue addressed specifically.

I guess my question is what do other people on the forum run for fuel and would running 87 for years damage something? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 08:18 AM

I load regular. Mine doesn't have a sticker so I went by the manual and I'm happy to load cheaper gas in the bike.
So far no problems.

Sent from Motorcycle.com App
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 08:21 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Garage
That 91 is probably a MON rating, 87 is the RON rating usually found on gas pumps and the correct one to use. I have always used the 87 as stated in manual, with no problems. Higher rated fuel is a waste of $ (in my opinion).

post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 08:43 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
91 RON (Research Octane Number) = 87 PON (Pump Octane Number, as posted on North American gas station pumps)

[MON (Motor Octane Number) + RON] /2 = PON (Pump Octane Number)

91 RON (87 PON) is the minimum requirement.

Last edited by invader; 10-15-2013 at 08:49 AM.
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 09:30 AM Thread Starter

Thanks for the info, never new Mon & Ron existed with fuel octane. Read up about it on Wikipedia. Learned something new today. Thanks Cory
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 10-15-2013, 09:32 AM
Banned

Question