Any conflicts between lowering block and Hyperpro lower shock? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-26-2009, 04:52 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Any conflicts between lowering block and Hyperpro lower shock?

Just bought the Hyperpro progressive shock with 1-1/4" lowering, and plan on using Speedy's lowering block with it. Then drop the front forks and that should get a good 3" drop.

Are there any known conflicts with combining these modifications? Especially the two mods to the rear shock?

I am VERY new to this, and my short dad bought this bike and cannot ride it until I get it lowered for him. So, technically, it is my bike for the next 2 weeks until all the parts come in and I get it put back together for him
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-27-2009, 04:12 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
The extra 2" rear drop would be excessive, and too low for the front. They're certainly not designed or meant to be used together. Handling would suffer from more front rake, more weight transfer to the rear, and there would likely be clearance problems. The Hyperpro shock's 1.25" drop with fork clamps lowered a bit would be just right. You'll probably still have to shorten the side stand... A Kawasaki low gel seat provides an extra 2" drop.

Last edited by invader; 06-27-2009 at 04:20 AM.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-27-2009, 08:34 AM Thread Starter

That was what I was worried about...getting TOO much drop at one place on the suspension.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-28-2009, 03:47 PM Thread Starter

Has anyone done it to verify that it won't work?
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-29-2009, 05:29 PM